Most Holy Name of Jesus Parish

13 (1) (1)


Brgy. Narra, San Pedro City, Laguna

Priest Name

Rev. Fr. Manuel Labing

Assistant Priest Name

Historical Background of the Most Holy Name of Jesus Parish
Founding Anniversary: October 10 | Feast Day: January 3

The Military Apostolic Vicariate, led by Archbishop Gaviola of Lipa, oversaw of the Resettlement Area (now Upper Villages) in 1968. Later, religious societies such as the Jesuit Fathers, S.D.B. Fathers, and C.I.M. Fathers received it. The I.C.M. Sisters arrived in the Resettlement Area and started the Kapitbahayang Pamalayan program, often known as Umbrella or P.P.C. Gloria Gengan, Salve Veclard, and Naty Asuncion formed the P.P.C. in the 1970s to grow communal spirituality. The three ordained sisters into the Catholic Church were Sis. Simon Coene, Sis Regie David, and Ms. Erlinda Gregorio.

Rev. Fr. Joel Tabora came to the Resettlement Area in the 1970s, and with the aid of Rev. Fr. Nilo Tanalega, Rev. Fr. Mario Francisco, Rev. Fr. Alex Tan, and Rev Fr. Rey Garcia, all S.J., he began the building of the church struture in Baragay Narra.

Furthermore, Fr. Rene De Guzman of Don Bosco also came to the Resettlement Area in the 1980s and encouraged the establishment of the Liturgy Ad Hoc Committee, which Mateo Lee led. After that, Fr. Tito Javier arrived in the Resettlement Area and strove hard to turn the existing religious community into a parish called “Kabanal-Banalang Ngalan ni Jesus.” However, the nuns still wanted to lead the church but were opposed by Fr. Tito Javier that the small church needed to be a parish because of the growing population of the resettlement, but with the presence of Rev. Fr. Maximo Mañalac, a diocesan priest these were rectified. Following that, the I.C.M. nuns and C.I.C.M. priests left the community. When Rev. Fr. Tito Javier departed the Resettlement Area, Rev. Fr. Ramon Calago came and undertook the continuation and construction of the church left by Rev. Fr. Joel Tabora.

To the appreciation of the Rev. Fr. Tito Javier, the Resettlement Area as a whole was created as a parish. Most Rev. Pedro N. Bantigue D.D., Bishop of San Pablo that time, recognized the whole Resettlement Area as a parish on October 10, 1987, and named it “Kabanal-Banalang Ngalan ni Jesus” in canonical terms. As proposed by Rev. Fr. Joel Tabora, the parish celebrates its feast day on January 1 every year to reduce each family’s expenditures during the celebration. It was moved to January 3 when Rev. Fr. Vito Realista became parish priest, and the date has been honored ever since.

The establishment of the parish was October 10, 1987, and it was Rev. Fr. Tito Javier, helped by P.P.C. President Bro. Nestor Velasco and the other officials and individuals who took the lead of the establishment to become what it is today. Their beliefs molded and motivated them to continue building the church. Since the nuns and sisters of C.I.C.M. were the ones who first organized and founded the church, prayers and rosaries became their motivation and their strength with whatever trials and challenges may come. Also, the first sacrament performed in the church was a baptism in 1974.

“Most Holy Name of Jesus Parish” became the parish’s English name throughout time and is now known not only in the upper villages but across Vicariate of San Pedro and San Pablo Diocese. Upon the departure of Rev. Fr. Ramon Calago, the following priests served as Parish Priests: Rev. Fr. Rico De Vera, Rev. Fr. Juvenal Anthony “Juvy” S. Leonardo, Rev. Fr. Vito “Bobit” Realista, Rev. Fr. Marlu “Boyet” Marasigan, Rev. Fr. Danilo “Dani” Fernandez, Rev. Fr. Jaime “Jimmy” Niego, and Rev. Fr. Manuel “Manny” Labing at present.

Mass Schedule

Sunday Time: 7am, 5pm
Saturday Time: 7pm

Bank Transfer

Bank Name: BDO
Account Name: The Roman Catholic Bishop of San Pablo Inc.
Account Number: 007570238866

Money Transfer

Donation QR Codes

Online Mass

Follow Us

Scroll to Top